osifont_license.txt 7.9 KB

123456789101112131415161718192021222324252627282930313233343536373839404142434445464748495051525354555657585960616263646566676869707172737475767778798081828384858687888990919293949596979899100101102103104105106107108109110111112113114115116117118119120121122123124125126127128129130131132133134135136137138139140141142143144145146147148149150151152153154155156157158159160161162163164165166167168169170171172173174175176177178179180181182183184185186187188189190
  1. Hi
  2. This is osifont project. Free technical font. Feel free to use it or even better,
  3. joint the project. Any questions, suggestions or ideas please send to project admin.
  4. Project admin: hikikomori82@gmail.com.
  5. Project hosted on: http://code.google.com/p/osifont/
  6. https://github.com/hikikomori82/osifont
  7. Created with: FontForge, Gimp, Inkscape
  8. Font is distributed under GNU GPL licence version 3 with GPL font exception:
  9. "Linking this font statically or dynamically with other software or
  10. documents is making a combined work based on this library. Thus, the
  11. terms and conditions of the GNU General Public License cover the
  12. whole combination.
  13. As a special exception, the copyright holders of this font give
  14. you permission to link this library with independent software or
  15. documents to produce an executable, regardless of the license terms
  16. of these independent software or documents, and to copy and
  17. distribute the resulting executable under terms of your choice,
  18. provided that you also meet, for each linked independent module, the
  19. terms and conditions of the license of that module. An independent
  20. software or documents is not derived from or based on this font. If
  21. you modify this font, you may extend this exception to your version of the
  22. font, but you are not obligated to do so. If you do not wish to do
  23. so, delete this exception statement from your version."
  24. FontForge notes and tips
  25. - Recommended bearing (space on the sides of the glyphs):
  26. 100 a 130
  27. 130 o 130
  28. 150 b 130
  29. 150 U 150
  30. So stright full height (left B, left L, both U) have 150
  31. Straight but half height (right b, right a, left d) have 130
  32. No straight line (both v, left a, right c) have 100
  33. - Shortcuts
  34. Ctrl+2 - Curve point ( )
  35. Ctrl+3 - Corner point [ ]
  36. Ctrl+4 - Tangent point -->
  37. Cltr+Shift+> - goto glyph
  38. Ctrl+Shhift+_ - Round to int
  39. Ctrl+e - Find problems
  40. - When creating straight lines
  41. Select 2 points
  42. Edit-Make line
  43. Ctrl+4
  44. - When you create composed font, e.g. D + ˇ = Ď, sometimes width may be
  45. too small, "Ď" is ok, but when you create "Ǐ", it might be too narrow.
  46. You can't imediatelly move left/right bearings because they are locked
  47. (small lock icon appears next to them). You must first unlock it:
  48. Edit->Unlock reference
  49. - After this you might also need this:
  50. Element->Round->To int
  51. Element->Find problems
  52. - Kerning. When you use Metrics->Auto kern, or Metrics->Kern pair closeup,
  53. it wont work. You have to do this:
  54. Element->Font info->Lookups->Gpos:
  55. - If there are any previous attempts about kerning, erase them
  56. - Click button "Add lookup"
  57. - In combo "Type" choose "Pair position (kerning)"
  58. - In first column "Feature" click on white rectangle, then gray rectangle and choose "Horizontal kerning", type name, e.g. "kern"
  59. - Press "ok", dialog will dissapear
  60. - Press "add subtable", name it, choose "horizontal", then choose "pairs"
  61. - Click blue <new> and type "T" in first column, "e" in second, -350 in thrird column
  62. - Add other pairs as needed
  63. - Click ok, ok
  64. - File->Generate fonts, choose TTF
  65. Achieved kerning results:
  66. Gedit 2.30.3 - works
  67. Firefox >= 3.6 - works
  68. Chrome 25 - works
  69. PHP GD - broken
  70. Osifont since 2014-03-10 contains 2 special kerning characters "Ȩȩ" (U+0228 U+0229).
  71. They together form "Kon" if kerning is supported, or "Kno" if it is not supported.
  72. Firefox is currently the only browser that supports kerning.
  73. - Ligatures:
  74. 1. Element->Font info->Lookups->GSUB->Add lookup
  75. Choose "Ligature substitution" in combo
  76. (this needs to be done only once, osifont has it since 2014-03-15)
  77. Name it "liga" as maximal name length is 4 characters.
  78. 2. Encoding->Add encoding slots->1
  79. (New slot will be added to the very end, edit it)
  80. 3. Element->Glyph info->Unicode->Glyph name
  81. (choose e.h. f_f_i for ffi ligature, I recomend using _ as separator as this will be autodetected later in step 5)
  82. 4. Element->Glyph info->Unicode->OT Glyph Class
  83. (choose "Base lig")
  84. 5. Close this dialog by pressing "OK" and reopen it
  85. Element->Glyph info->Ligatures-> Click on blue <New Lig...>, choose "liga" table, "f f i" will be automatically added (if you used underscores in name)
  86. If you have ligature for non latin glyphs, use e.g. "uni023B uni023B"
  87. 6. Element->Build->Composite font
  88. If you want to change shape, use Edit->Unlink reference or clear it and start from the scratch
  89. 7. When you are done, close glyph and reopen it. On the left, at [0] position there is "Lig caret", use mouse and move it between 2 characters
  90. of glyph. Three glyph ligature like ffi would have 2 of those "Lig caret". Move one between ff and one between fi.
  91. Osifont since 2014-03-15 contains special ligature made of characters "Ȼȼ" (U+023B U+023C).
  92. They together form ligature "Lon" if ligatures are supported, or "Kno" if they are not supported.
  93. Firefox is currently the only browser that supports ligatures.
  94. - Fixing errors and cleaning up glyphs
  95. When new glyph is done or after you modify glyph, you can
  96. do certain tasks to make it more correct.
  97. 1. entire glyph should be rounded to int. Usually it
  98. already is, but sometimes it slips from int to float. Hit
  99. Ctrl+A to select all points, then Element->Round->Int
  100. or press Ctrl+Shift+_
  101. 2. Make sure the outer outline of the font is clockwise and
  102. inner outline is counter clockwise. It it is not, select
  103. those olive colored points and change their orientation
  104. by Element->Clockwise or Element->Counter clockwise.
  105. 3. Make sure font width is correct and it is centered correctly
  106. with just the right amount of space on the sides. This is
  107. called "bearing" and correct values are mentioned above, but
  108. there is some room for adjustment, it is better to make it
  109. consistent among related glyphs than to blindliy obey some
  110. magic numbers.
  111. 4. Run tool "Find problems" (Ctrl+E). In the dialog click
  112. on "Set all" and on "BB" tab:
  113. - uncheck "Check advance" (because we have variable width font).
  114. - uncheck "Check BB above" (esp. for accented glyps because
  115. they all taller than normal glyph)
  116. Then click "Ok", it should say "No problems found".
  117. Otherwise it will tell you what is
  118. wrong and allow you to fix it. Some problems has to be fixed
  119. manually. Sometimes it is good to stop and "round to int"
  120. again and then continue in finding problems.
  121. Error: The hint does not control any points
  122. Solution: Run autohint again (Ctrl+Shift+H)
  123. Error: The glyps extend left further than desired
  124. Solution: Adjust bearing (step 3). Sometimes, this is
  125. not an error, see for example glyph Ħ (Hbar), the bar extends
  126. left and right, but capital letter is usually followed by
  127. small letter so it will not interfere.
  128. Error: The selected points are too close to each other.
  129. Solution: very often you just accidentaly clicked and added
  130. another point next to already existing point (sometimes
  131. there is one above other). Zoom in and move them a bit.
  132. You can merge them by Edit->Merge (Ctrl+M). Or do it by hand.
  133. ---------[]---------[]-------- 2 poins
  134. ---------[]----*----[]-------- add thrid point (add a cornder point)
  135. ---------[] []-------- delete it (del)
  136. --------------------()-------- move first point to second
  137. --------------------[]-------- restore correct point type (e.g. corner point in this case, Point->Corner (Ctrl+3))
  138. 5. Run autohint (Ctrl+Shift+H), then run "Find problems" again.
  139. Sometimes hints are too close to point that are not related to that
  140. hint, this is generally not a problem and you can ignore it.
  141. 6. Make sure tangent points are where they should be (e.g.
  142. look at the top of the letter T). Convert those points to
  143. tangent "Point->Tangent" (Ctrl+4). Usefull tools for this
  144. is sometimes selecting two points and "Point->Make line".